Magritte Awards

Films nominated for the Magritte Awards for french-speaking Belgian cinema.

The Magritte Awards were created in 2011 by the Académie André Delvaux to promote French-speaking Belgian cinema, on the model of the Césars in France and the Oscars in the United States. Named after the famous surrealist painter René Magritte, they are the French-language counterpart to the Ensors prizes, which have been awarded to Flemish cinema since 2010. Twenty-two Magritte are awarded each year in February, and the public is invited to vote for the best first film.